Landscape Architecture

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Introduction

Landscape Architecture is a profession that concerns with the conservation and the stewardship of the Earth. It is the art and science of creating and outdoor spaces for the functional and pleasant environment. The landscape and its aesthetics value are viewed to enrich man spiritual needs. It is important the the Department of Landscape Architecture inculcates the Islamic Spirit of caring for the society and nature in its curriculum.It s believed that the society's need takes precedence over that of individuals and he custodianship of nature as part of the Landscape Architecture practice.

The objectives are:

1. To train professionals to achieve the standard of competency and knowledge in Landscape Architecture

2. To incorporate a sense of responsible and commitment to natural heritage

3. To evoke one's cultural identity through nature appreciation and apply it in Landscape Architecture practice

4. To be able to monitor and sustain nature for future benefits

 

From left:

1. Asst. Prof. Dr. Rashidi Othman (rashidi@iium.edu.my) / Ext: 3151

2. Asst. Prof. Dr. Mohd. Ramzi Mohd Hussain (ramzi@iium.edu.my) / Ext: 6286

3. Prof. Dr. Ismawi Hj. Zen (ismawi@iium.edu.my) / Ext: 5262     CV

4. Asst. Prof. Dr. Jamilah Othman (jamilah_61164@iium.edu.my) / Ext: 5218 :: Head of Department     CV

5. Asst. Prof. Dr. Aniza Abu Bakar (aaniza@iium.edu.my) / Ext: 5294     CV

6. Asst. Prof. Dr. Mazlina Mansor (mmazlina@iium.edu.my) / Ext: 3751

7. Asst. Prof. Dr. Izawati Tukiman (izawati@iium.edu.my) / Ext: 3156